Ijāzah (Authorization) degree

After completing the four-year bachelor’s degree students have the option of completing the requirements for receiving an Ijāzah in the six canonical books of ḥadīth: Ṣaḥīḥ Al-Bukhārī, Ṣaḥīḥ Muslim, Jāmi’ Tirmidhi, Sunan Abu Dāwūd, Sunan Ibn Mājah, and Sunan Al- Nasā’i. The goal of the program is for students to develop advanced literacy in ḥadīth literature allowing them to navigate through the texts and understand how they interact with the field of jurisprudence.



Ṣaḥīḥ Al-Bukhārī
Known as the most authentic book after the Qur’ān, this collection is considered to be one of the most important works of ḥadīth. This course will cover a brief biography of Imām Al-Bukhāri as well as a brief introduction to his methodology in compiling and organizing his work. The students will study a brief explanation of each ḥadīth with the goal of familiarizing themselves with the work and how it used in deriving legal rulings.

Ṣaḥīḥ Muslim
The famous collection of Imām Muslim ibn Hajjāj Al-Naysābūrī may God be pleased with him. This course will provide a general survey of the work so that students will be familiar with its structure, organization and subject matter.

Sunan Ibn Mājah
This is the celebrated work of Imām Abu ‘Abdillah Muhammad ibn Yazīd Al-Rab‘ī also known as ibn Mājah Al-Qazwīni, may God be pleased with him. In this collection he compiled 4,341 Ahādīth divided into 32 books, which are further divided into 1,500 chapters. This course will survey the narrations in this collection familiarizing the students with the work and its content.

Sunan Al- Nasā’i
The famous collection of Imām Abu ‘Abd Al-Rahmān Ahmad ibn Shu‘ayb Al-Nasā’i, may God be pleased with him. The collection consists of 5,000 Ahādīth of a legal nature. Students will survey the work familiarizing them with its structure and content.


This course will cover criminal law, court procedure, and the rules related to food and clothing.